Lien pour acceder au site du CEA
Site Genoscope en langue française Genoscope site in english El sitio Genoscope en español
Home page > Sequencing > Projects > Plants > Vitis vinifera > Vitis vinifera

All the versions of this article:

Vitis vinifera

Vitis vinifera

Publications :
The French–Italian Public Consortium for Grapevine Genome Characterization, “The grapevine genome sequence suggests ancestral hexaploidization in major angiosperm phyla”, Nature (2007).

Vitis vinifera (2n=38) is part of the Vitaceae family, which comprises 17 genera, mostly woody or herbaceous lianas primarily inter-tropical in their distribution. Only one genus, Vitis, produces edible berries. It contains about 60 dioecious species that are distributed almost equally between America and Asia and represent a considerable resource for resistance to pathogens (Mullins & al, 1992). Vitis vinifera L. is the only species originating from Eurasia and it has been spread throughout the world by human cultivation. The Vitaceae family is a basal family of the rosids (Jansen & al, 2006).

JPG - 7.1 kb
Photo of a grap of Vitis vinifera. (Author and credit: Sten. Photo from the website http://www.wikipedia.fr)

The number of chromosome per haploid genome across the Vitacea family varies from 11 to 20. Cytological observations of F1 hybrids between Vitis vinifera (2n=38) and Muscadinia rotundifolia (2n=40), suggested an allopolyploid origin of the Vitis genome (Mullins & al, 1992).

Perennial liana like Vitis vinifera have many developmental aspects different from Arabidopsis, poplar, Medicago and tomato, which include a unique shoot architecture with petiolated leaves opposite to either inflorescences or tendrils. Inflorescences have a pyramidal branched structure with an asynchronous development of flowers. The five petals of the flowers are jointed into a cap structure which falls at anthesis, liberating the stamens and the pistil. Particularly adapted to avian dissemination, the berry pericarp undergoes multifaceted metabolic changes common to most fleshy fruits species as they shift from a repulsive to an attractive status. The transition between these two status is abrupt and the trigger remains unknown (Mullins & al, 1992). Unlike in tomato, berry ripening occurs without an increase in respiration, or a significant emission of ethylene.

References

Last update on 27 March 2009

© Genoscope - Centre National de Séquençage
2 rue Gaston Crémieux CP5706 91057 Evry cedex
Tél:  (+33) 0 1 60 87 25 00
Fax: (+33) 0 1 60 87 25 14

Home | Overview | Projects | News | Press Panorama | Resources | Contact
Follow-up of the site's activity RSS 2.0 | Site Map | Credits | Copyright

Lien pour acceder au site du CEA
Site Genoscope en langue française Genoscope site in english El sitio Genoscope en español
Accueil du site > Séquençage > Les projets > Plantes > Vitis vinifera > La vigne

Toutes les versions de cet article :

Vitis vinifera

La vigne

Vitis vinifera (2n=38) appartient à la famille des Vitaceae. Cette famille, présente majoritairement dans la zone intertropicale, contient 17 genres, essentiellement des lianes pérennes ou herbacées. Seul le genre Vitis produit des fruits comestibles. Il contient environ 60 espèces dioïques distribuées de façon équitable entre les continents américain et asiatique et représentant une ressource considérable de gènes de résistance aux agents pathogènes de la vigne (Mullins & al, 1992). Vitis vinifera est la seule espèce originaire d’Eurasie mais elle a été dispersée par l’homme à travers le monde pour la production de raisins de table et de vin. La famille des Vitaceae est une famille basale de la famille des rosids (Jansen & al, 2006).

JPG - 7.1 ko
Vitis vinifera (Auteur & crédit : Sten. Photo du site http://www.wikipedia.fr)

Le nombre de chromosomes par génome haploïde dans la famille des Vitaceae varie entre 11 et 20. Des observations cytologiques d’hybrides F1 entre Vitis vinifera (2n=38) et Muscadinia rotundifolia (2n=40), suggèrent une possible origine allopolyploïde du génome de la vigne (Mullins & al, 1992).

La vigne diffère d’Arabidopsis, du peuplier, de la luzerne et de la tomate (les autres dicotylédones dont le génome est séquencé ou en cours de séquençage) par de nombreuses caractéristiques biologiques telle que l’architecture de la tige avec des feuilles pétiolées en opposition soit avec des inflorescences, soit avec des vrilles. Les inflorescences ont une structure pyramidale branchée avec un développement asynchrone des fleurs. Les cinq pétales des fleurs sont soudées pour former la coiffe qui tombe à l’anthèse, libérant ainsi les étamines et le pistil. Particulièrement adaptées à la dissémination par les oiseaux, les baies subissent au cours de leur maturation des changements métaboliques complexes, communs à la plupart des fruits charnus et qui les font passer d’un état répulsif pour les animaux à attractif. La transition entre ces deux états est très rapide mais le mécanisme sous-jacent est encore inconnu. En effet, à la différence de la tomate, la maturation des baies de raisins intervient sans augmentation de la respiration ni émission significative d’éthylène (Mullins & al, 1992).

Bibliographie

  • Jansen RK, Kaittanis C, Saski C, Lee S-B, Tomkins J, Alverson AJ, Daniell H. « Phylogenetic analyses of Vitis (Vitaceae) based on complete chloroplast genome sequences : effects of taxon sampling and phylogenetic methods on resolving relationships among rosids. » BMC Evolutionary Biology. 2006. 6 : 32L
  • Mullins MG, Bouquet A, Williams LE. « Biology of grapevine ». Cambridge University Press, Cambridge. 1992.
mise à jour le 11 avril 2008

© Genoscope - Centre National de Séquençage
2 rue Gaston Crémieux CP5706 91057 Evry cedex
Tél:  (+33) 0 1 60 87 25 00
Fax: (+33) 0 1 60 87 25 14

Accueil | Présentation | Projets | Actualités | Panorama de presse | Ressources | Contact
Suivre la vie du site RSS 2.0 | Plan du site | Crédits | Mentions légales